Peaceful, Easy Feeling

I haven’t been this kung fu happy since my tournament win!  Earlier today I had a glorious ninety minutes in a wide open, dimly-lit, scented-candle-smelling yoga room with a wall of mirrors on one side.  I would have stayed longer if I didn’t have to deliver my daughter to a birthday party.  It’s probably good that I had the obligation on the calendar to keep me from overdoing it.

Image

It was the most relaxed but intensive, high-quality practice session I’ve had since the last time I was allowed to practice in the open space during sanshou class.  My first use of a gym membership that’s also free for the first month, and I couldn’t be more satisfied with my choice.  I not only have freedom of movement, but the floors are so much better on my joints that I was able to execute jumps just as well at end of my training session as I had at the beginning – something that is never true at the guan.

Image

Next move is the introduction to the program director to see about teaching.  I have a good feeling that a return to teaching is imminent.  In the meantime, preparation for the tournament two weekends away is very much back on track!

About T. D. Davis

Baker and former journalist. View all posts by T. D. Davis

3 responses to “Peaceful, Easy Feeling

Leave a Reply

